WaSLA – Washington State Literacy Association

Author/Illustrator/Storyteller Award

This award recognizes a Washington author, illustrator or storyteller for outstanding contributions to children’s literature.


Nominees will be judged by evidence found within the application on the following categories:

  • Must be a resident of Washington;
  • Work must reflect the highest quality style, content, structure, beauty of language, and/or artistic presentation;
  • Work must have potential for enriching the curriculum or children’s lives”
  • Work must have at least two positive reviews from reliable sources: Horn Book; Booklist; School Library Journal; The Krikus Revies; or Wilson Library Bulletin


Past Honorees

2009 – Debra Harris-Branham
2007 – Laura McGee Kvasnosky
2006 – Claire Rudolf Murphy
2005 – Janet Wong
2004 – Kelly Milner Halls, Spokane
2003 – Madonna Hanna, Kitsap
2002 – Dr. Margaret Read McDonald
2001 – Deborah Hopkinson, Benton-Franklin
2000 – Stephen Kramer, Lower Columbia
1999 – Chris Crutcher, Spokane
1998 – Peg Kehret, Northwest
1992 – Keith Baker, Lower Columbia and Jacqueline Baucom, Spokane
1988 – Jasper Tompkins