WaSLA – Washington State Literacy Association

Sebesta Award

Began in 2002 to recognize a clearly outstanding classroom teacher or teacher educator of reading/language arts/literature. This award honors Dr. Sam Sebesta.


  • The recipient of the award must be a classroom teacher or university educator who works directly with students in a school or college/university setting.
  • In addition, the applicant/nominee must have taught for five (5) full years in Washington and be nominated by at least four persons through letters of support.
  • Applicants/ nominees must have been WORD members for a minimum of 5 years and have current WORD and IRA memberships.

Classroom teachers nominees will be evaluated in the following criteria:

  1. Knowledge of reading/language arts
  2. Teaching effectiveness; including effective use of children’s literature
  3. Willingness to share ideas and methods
  4. Impact on colleagues
  5. Demonstrated enthusiasm for reading and language arts

Teacher educator nominees will be evaluated in the following criteria:

  1. A knowledgeable professional who knows the field and who maintains currency in research and practice.
  2. A developer and implementer who develops and implements outstanding courses in reading for preservice and/or inservice teachers.
  3. A leader in the field of reading who assumes responsible leadership positions.
  4. A role model who inspires preservice/inservice teachers to develop pupils to their fullest potential in reading and challenges students to extend their educational horizons.


Past Sebesta Awards

2005 – Steve Siera and Terry Young
2004 – Vikki Berard, Northshore
2003 – Terry Young, Benton-Franklin
2002 – Linda Lee, Spokane